THE VAMPIRE BY mikeycharles

“Despite all the research been carried concerning the human brain there is still so much that is unknown and…” Mrs Kathy kept on explaining how the brain is still a mystery to scientists and biologists alike.
I love Mrs Kathy and Biology but sometimes she teaches like we are in the University and not in secondary school which is really frustrating and unbearable and not to mention the truckload of assignments we get after every class.
“Can I get a pen?” Poopola whispered after poking me to get my attention
“No!” I replied trying to maintain a straight face
“Why?” he whined
“Well, you asked and I reserve the right to deny your request”I said with a little smirk
“Come on! be serious, I’m not playing” he whined further
“This is 45 minutes into the class and now you remember to write?” I asked, stunned that Poopola had not been writing since the beginning of the class.
“Nah! Vicky just sent me something and I wanna reply her” he said smiling sheepishly
“Mr Friday and Mrs James! Having your own class I see” Mrs Kathy scowled at us
Yep! that’s me, My name is Uche Friday and Mrs James is actually my male best friend Poopola James but that fact always seems to fly over Mrs Kathy head since she always refers to Poopola as Mrs like some joke only she herself laughs at.
We recently just graduated from JSS 3 to SS1 and its been kicking our butt ever since, senior secondary school ain’t as simple as our previous junior classes but it does have its perks; we get to wear long sleeved shirts and trousers instead of shorts and the juniors now call us “Senior” instead of our names. So yeah! That’s an upgrade in the reps department.
“No mam” I replied without stuttering since the whole class had now turned their attention towards us.
“This is your last warning, young men” Mrs Kathy trying to sound scary but her size makes it kind of funny and hard to take her seriously.
“I just love break time” Poopola yelled after the bell rang signaling break had begun
“Poopola!” a girly voiced yelled from behind us
“Vicky girl!” Poopola yelled back at her which prompted snickers among some close by students
Poopola and Vicky had this weird but really nice relationship which I envied, Vicky liked Poopola unconditionally like he was her long lost twin or something and he also like her equally. There is not a day that goes by without me hearing stuff like “Vicky this…” or “Vicky is the most beautiful of them all…” blah blah
“I didn’t get a reply from you, oh hey you” she said and waved at me realizing my presence
“I couldn’t not after Mrs Kathy had warned us” he explained
“Yeah, that guy is always putting you in trouble” she said with venom in her voice and I’m guessing that shes talking about is me. I don’t really like Vicky and she also returns the favour
“Actually it was your horrendous voice that-” Poopola hit me so hard with his elbow I thought I was gonna throw up.
“Don’t mind him, he’s not feeling himself today and I’m guessing its malaria” Poopola offered while chuckling and Vicky giggled along side like he was a stand-up comedian and had said a million dollar joke.
“You’re gonna pay for that” I croaked still clutching my stomach
“Anyway, did you read what I wrote to you” Vicky asked smiling like she had won a contract
“of course I did and yeah id love to be your boyfriend” he said grinning like she had just offered him the fountain of youth
“Oh my God! Im so happy” she hugged and ran way, no like literally she ran away
“I love her so much” he commented
“You’re 15! You don’t really know what love is” I said shaking my head
“And you do?” he asked with a raised voice
“Nope but I know you guys are just infatuated with each other and not really in love with each other” I said
“So what are we gonna get today?” Poopola questioned as we headed for the school cafeteria and not arguing with what I had said earlier
“im thinking okpa” I suggested
“Hell no! The beans in that upsets my stomach” he argued
“Its not really beans you know, its a seed under cowpea or something like that” I said calmly
“Don;t care! Beans, cowpea; they’re all the same thing” he said
“Okay lets just get doughnuts and a bottle of zobo” I suggested
“Now you’re talking!” he grinned like a fool
The zobo was so chilled and refreshing I drank it in one gulp before I even ate the doughnuts which prompted Poopola giving me a weird stare like I had
“What! The weather is very hot today” I said smiling
“I’ve noticed you do that all the time and you always prefer drinks to food” he said
“Well its good to stay hydrated” I said looking at the empty bottle of zobo which I had squeezed the life out of.
We headed back to class and after four more subjects, they bell was rung for dismissal and we packed our bags and headed for the school bus already parked outside the classroom waiting to convey students to their various homes.

Watch out for the next episode

Published by Wahab Roqeeb Opeyemi

A student of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, from the department of Crop and environmental protection.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started